Bristol Energy announces new Board appointments

21 May 2019

  • Bristol Energy has announced four new board members including a new Chair. This now takes the number of members on the Bristol Energy board to eight.

The board will work with Bristol Energy’s management team to realise the newly launched company vision; to create a sustainable energy company with social value at its heart.

The Bristol Energy board and management team thanks Alex Wiseman for his role as interim Chair, whilst the search for a new Chair took place. Alex will continue in his role as Non-Executive Director.

The new board members are:

Stephen Robertson, Chair

Stephen is an experienced Chairman and Non-Executive Director having worked with businesses across the retail and financial sectors, all of which have a strong customer focus. Stephen is a non-executive director of Hargreaves Lansdown plc (Bristol-based, FTSE 100 consumer financial services), Timpson Group (privately held services retailer), senior independent director at Clipper Logistics plc (quoted, retail e-commerce logistics) and Chairman of Retail Economics (research consultancy). Stephen lives locally and is Visiting Professor to Bristol Business School, University West of England and was conferred an honorary doctorate in 2017.

Bethan Evans, Non-Executive Director

Beth is a lawyer by background and a recognised expert in administrative law and governance. Beth specialised in advising clients on decision making and new models of delivery in fields including energy, children’s services, asset backed vehicles, education and housing. She led projects to set up large-scale wholly-owned companies, trusts and joint ventures. In 2018, Beth retired from legal practice and now runs her own business, specialising in governance training for elected members and officers in local government. Beth is a Trustee of Ablaze, a Bristol based charity which tackles inequality of opportunity for young people in the West of England.

Professor Peter Madden, Non-Executive Director

Peter is currently the Professor of Practice in City Futures at Cardiff University and has held previous CEO and advisory roles, bringing deep expertise in innovation, digital technology, cities, climate change and sustainability. Peter is currently on the Board of the Crown Estate, Chair of Building with Nature, a member of Ingersoll Rand's Sustainability Advisory Council, and Director of Ecovivid Ltd.

Alan Mather, Non-Executive Director

Alan is an experienced leader holding numerous board level roles in both public and private sector organisations. Alan brings with him experience of delivering large scale digital programmes working across various government departments including DEFRA, the Home Office, Highways England and Public Health England. Alan has also founded and advised consultancies specialising in digital platform strategy and development.

We’re delighted to welcome the new board members of Bristol Energy. The process we went through to identify, interview and appoint our new members was detailed and has resulted in securing the services of some highly experienced and talented people.

It’s vital to any governing body that their members bring with them a range of knowledge and experiences to support their respective management teams in delivering the ambitions of the company and stakeholder. I look forward to working with all board members in future to continue the growth of Bristol Energy and successful delivery of positive impacts for Bristol.

- Councillor Craig Cheney, Deputy Mayor with responsibility for Finance, Governance and Performance at Bristol City Council

I am excited for the opportunity to lead the Bristol Energy board and welcome the opportunity to play a role in the company’s continued growth. I am committed to Bristol Energy’s founding principles of being a force for social good by tackling fuel poverty in Bristol and bringing to market cleaner and sustainable energy.

There are a number of exciting opportunities ahead of the company in the coming years. I look forward to working closely with my colleagues on the board, the company’s management team and Bristol City Council to ensure Bristol Energy continues on its journey towards its goals.

- Stephen Robertson, incoming Chair of the board of directors at Bristol Energy

We are committed to supporting Bristol hit ambitious social and environmental goals and I’m looking forward to working with our new board members to make this happen. Our strategy over the coming financial year is to focus on growing our customer base both locally and nationally and offering additional innovative energy services, such as our first to market ‘Heat as Service’ plan.

This is the start of an exciting new phase of growth for Bristol Energy.

My message to everyone in Bristol is this is your energy company – join us to help us reinvest back into your Bristol community.

- Marek Majewicz, Managing Director at Bristol Energy

Bristol City Council remains the sole shareholder of Bristol Energy. The board of directors acts on behalf of the shareholder to run the day to day affairs of the business with the management team to ensure the company’s success and deliver the positive social impacts that Bristol Energy was set up to achieve.

The new Bristol Energy board is as follows:

  • Stephen Robertson, Chair
  • Marek Majewicz , Managing Director
  • Bethan Evans, Non-Executive Director
  • Merlin Hyman, Non-Executive Director
  • Professor Peter Madden, Non-Executive Director
  • Alan Mather, Non-Executive Director
  • Steve Pearce, Non-Executive Director
  • Alex Wiseman, Non-Executive Director

Read about some of our achievements so far